No comments yet

Church Board Report to the Congregation – November 2018

The Church Board’s monthly meeting took place on Tuesday evening, December 4th.    Here is a summary report from the December Board meeting.


The Board continues to stay abreast of current attendance and contribution trends.  Attendance has been increasing slowly but steadily since late September.   Our average Sunday morning attendance for the year stands at approximately 650, and we ended the month with $45,000 in our General Fund Account.
Pastor Bill reported that an invitation has been extended to Alan Robinson,  the National Director of the Brethren in Christ denomination to come to Five Forks and give a presentation on Anabaptism.  Alan gave this presentation at Shalom Christian School in November and we understand it was very informative.  He has accepted this invitation and will be here to address the congregation on Saturday morning, January 5th from 9am until Noon. 


The Board voted to appoint a new Church Treasurer for a 3-year term when Gene Gorman’s term expires early in 2019.   The Board is making the congregation aware of this open position, and anyone interested is asked to contact the church office before the end of the year to make their interest known.  The Board is also asking Gene to remain on the Finance Committee and serve as a mentor to the incoming treasurer for a 1-year period.
The Board is also looking for approximately seven women to serve on the Women’s Ministry Committee.  Over 20 names were considered with each Board member selecting their top 3 choices.  These choices were totaled together and Pastor Bill will be approaching those with the most votes to see of their interest in serving on this committee.  
The Board periodically reviews and updates our Facility Guidelines and this was done at this month’s board meeting.   These guidelines are in place primarily for those who are looking to use the church for a special events such as a weddings, birthday or anniversary party and are available upon request.
Your Church Board consists of…
Staff:  Bill Shank, Shaun Kipe
Congregational Representatives (elected at Annual Council) :  Peggy Dawson, Sandy Gray, Matt Nolt, Harvey Payne, Angie Petersheim, Todd Smith, Joel Wenger, Lin Yoder
Deacon Representative: Mike Garland
Church Treasurer:  Gene Gorman
Recording Secretary:  Christina Martin (non-voting)