No comments yet

Church Board Report to the Congregation – June 2018

The Church Board’s monthly meeting took place on Tuesday evening, June 5th.   Here is a summary report from the June Board meeting:


Pastor Bill reported that Sunday morning attendance continues to be down compared to last year, with contributions running consistent with 2017 giving.   Pastor Shaun reported that he and Chris Bumbaugh are organizing a church night out at a Hagerstown Suns baseball game (and fireworks) on Friday, July 20th.   He is also in discussion with Brady Smith about establishing a college age/young adult ministry, and is working with Ricky Leese and the GM committee concerning Ricky’s Eagle Scout project to build a gazebo for the church.


Ray gave a summary report of a discussion forum on Open Theism that was held at the New Guilford BIC church in May.   The board then discussed various aspects of open theology in an effort to better understand this subject. Pastors Bill and Shaun will be serving as delegates at the upcoming General Assembly in July and will keep the Board apprised of the discussion taking place on a denominational level.
The Board invited Rochelle Nolt to attend the last part of the Board meeting and continue the discussion on women and ministry at Five Forks. The Board was excited to see that over 50 women responded to the surveys the Board asked Rochelle to send out earlier this year, and we received some very helpful feedback. From these surveys and further group discussions it has become evident that there is a significant need when it comes to women and ministry at Five Forks. For the Board to do nothing in light of the responses was not an option, and so our discussion revolved around the ways the church would benefit by bringing a female onto our staff.   The Board also discussed several challenges, including working with those whose convictions would cause them to struggle if the woman hired would be considered a pastor.   What challenges might the current staff face if a female were to join the staff?   The financial impact, the role she would fill, transparent communication between the Board and congregation were all part of the discussion. In the end and after much discussion a committee was formed and given the task of creating a broad job description to bring back to the Board for development. Members of this committee include Rochelle, Pastor Shaun, Peggy Dawson, Heather Ellerbrock, Angie Petersheim, and Todd Smith. There will be opportunities for discussion to take place in the coming days, such as congregation-wide forums where questions may be asked and views can be shared.
Your Church Board consists of…
Staff:  Bill Shank, Shaun Kipe
Congregational Representatives (elected at Annual Council) Peggy Dawson, Sandy Gray, Matt Nolt, Harvey Payne, Angie Petersheim, Todd Smith, Joel Wenger, Lin Yoder
Deacon Representative: Mike Garland
Church Treasurer:  Gene Gorman
Recording Secretary:  Christina Martin (non-voting)