No comments yet

Church Board Report to the Congregation – February 2018

The Church Board’s monthly meeting took place on Thursday evening, February 1st.   Here is a summary report from the February Board meeting:


Pastor Bill reported that our average Sunday morning attendance for January was 675 which was well below last January. The sub-zero temperatures early in the month had a significant impact on our attendance figure. Contributions were up slightly over last January however.   It was also reported that the Growing Tree Pre-School Program would begin offering afternoon classes starting in the fall.


Pastor Shaun brought a request from Steve Kulla, head of the Waynesboro Children’s Theatre Troupe. They requested to use the church facilities for an adult community production that will be performed in May. We believe this is one way of helping us meet our goal of establishing and maintaining a strong relationship with our local community. This request was approved.
The Board voted to put together a committee that will be given the task of developing a formal security policy for our church. A number of names for this committee were suggested and contact will be made with these individuals.   Once the committee is in place, the Board will be looking for an initial report from them by the April Church Board meeting
The Board voted to continue to have Bill serve in the role of Administrative Pastor for 2018.
It was decided that Harvey Payne would begin serving as a consultant to the staff, meeting with the staff every other Thursday morning starting February 22nd.


Bill led a discussion on positive changes and goals that were met in 2017 as well as identifying areas and goals that were not accomplished this past year.
The staff was excused at the end of the meeting so that the Board could discuss staff compensation in lieu of feedback received at (and after) Annual Council.
Your Church Board (starting in March) will consist of…
Staff: Voting members: Bill Shank, Shaun Kipe. Non-voting members: Ray Kipe, Brian Black, Jim Recard, Josh Roach, Kenton Hock
Congregational Representatives (elected at Annual Council) :  Peggy Dawson, Sandy Gray, Matt Nolt, Harvey Payne, Angie Petersheim, Todd Smith, Joel Wenger, Lin Yoder
Deacon Representative: Mike Garland
Church Treasurer:  Gene Gorman
The role of Recording Secretary (non-voting member) is yet to be filled.